Stereo

I should probably go to sleep but I’m really pumped right now.

I finally managed to catch a showing of ‘Stereo’ after missing it at the Berlinale, today. I had no idea what the film was about and I was pleasantly surprised by how great it was.

Image

‘Stereo’ is a thriller about Erik, who finds his perfect life with his beautiful girlfriend and her daughter compromised when a man that only he can see starts stalking him.

What struck me about this film is that I didn’t see any of the twists coming. I was on the edge of my seat through the entirety of the film, unable to guess what would come next. It was filmed beautifully and the score was strange and unsettling which suited the film perfectly. The acting was strong, especially by the lead, Jürgen Vogel. The film was short compared to today’s standards, clocking in at 95 minutes but it was packed to the brim with a strong story. There were several eerie scenes that really struck me such as the first few times that he sees his stalker and the intimate scene with his girlfriend, Julia. The only thing I thought could be changed was the ending. I think they could have ended it a couple of scenes earlier because of the overarching relationship he has with a certain character. It would made it stronger. However, I have no complaints.

I strongly recommend that you all check it out!

Leave a Reply

