Berlinale Final Update

Okay, so I’ve decided to just list the films I enjoyed and the films that I did not enjoy instead of writing small excerpts about each one because there were just too many. I saw a total of 19 films, 9 workshops and 7 short films within the 10 days that I was there.

I enjoyed:

Blind – A film in the POV of a blind woman who fears going outside and instead writes stories about her husband cheating on her.

Were Dengê Min – An old lady whose son is taken away by soldiers for possessing weapons even though he doesn’t have one. In order to free him, she goes on a long journey with her granddaughter to acquire a gun.

Bai Ri Yan Huo – The winner of Berlinale. It tells the story of a cop who is sucked back into an unsolvable case from years prior. He finds himself falling for the victim’s wife but finds that there is more to her than meets the eye.

52 Tuesdays – A teenage girl has to deal with her mother becoming a man and being exiled to live with her father for a year while her mother transitions. She is unable to deal and experiments sexually with two classmates.

The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared – Like the title says.

Kreuzweg – A teenage girl is criticized for everything she does by her extremely Christian mother. She decides to give her life to the Lord in hopes that he will give her brother the power of speech to please her mother.

Jack – A young boy sneaks out of the boys home when his mother fails to come pick him as promised. He picks up his younger brother and they run through the city searching for her before coming to a realization that was there all along.

Triptych – Three characters who are related to each other, deal with their own demons.

Nymphomaniac – Lars Von Trier. Sex. ‘Nuff said.

I did not enjoy:

Sto Spiti, Forma and Kumun tadi. They were also all in the same category. Hmm. I was also very disappointed by She’s Lost Control and Beauty and the Beast.

Ieji and Feriado were so-so. There wasn’t anything new presented in the films. Otherwise, MOST of the workshops were great. I especially enjoyed 5D The Science of Fiction: Shaping New Worlds, The Land of Things and Spaces: Production Design and The Invisible World: The Magic of VFX.

I was really glad to have had the chance to be accredited. It gave me the chance to see films that I never would have been able to see.  It was also a really fun experience; lack of sleep, lack of time to eat, a lot of queuing. Next year I hope to attend again. However, I probably won’t be able to see as much as I saw this year since I will have to pay for everything myself and separately as well.

Leave a Reply

