Mein Haus am see

Sorry for the lack of updates! I haven’t really been doing much the past few days due to all the rainy weather and the fact that everything is closed on Sundays. I’m also trying to preserve money since I don’t have a bank account yet.

I need to get things printed so that I can get a residence form from the local registration office. This form will allow me to open a bank account, get a phone plan as well as my residence permit which I will need after 3 months. Today I discovered that my trusty USB key is not working because it’s switched to read only. I don’t know what happened but I’m trying to figure out how to fix it or else I’ll have to look for a new one.  I hope to have this resolved by tomorrow with my residence form, bank account and phone set up by the end of this week.

Last night I decided to meet up with a classmate before classes started. We decided on a bar called ‘Mein Haus am see’ and judging by the name of the person,  I figured they were female. We both did not know what each other looked like which has royally failed me once before. I managed to walk the wrong way after exiting the station but figured out my way soon after. Apparently I’m better at reading maps and directions in Germany than I am in Canada, huh. The bar did not have a sign so I stood outside what I ASSUMED was the right place and hoped for the best. The good thing was – free wifi! I managed to send off a message to the person through our moodle site and lo and behold, a guy pops out to greet me.

The bar itself is pretty cool and chill. There’s a small room for smokers (I had to go in there quite a bit as my new friend was a chain smoker. I think he finished more than 10 cigarettes while we were there) and a large room with a section of stairs covered in couches and the rest of the room covered in tables and couches. People can sit wherever they want so you’ll have several groups of people sharing couches. My new friend is a very sociable person and tends to talk to everyone around us. There were paintings and photographs all over the walls which you could buy. They also have dance music, playing all the time, random videos and projections on the wall, a bookshelf that you can go through and apparently really good espresso and food.

ImageImage

At this point I want to say that I love Berlin and it doesn’t feel like I’m in a different country. However, I don’t exactly fit in due to the party culture. I realized it after yesterday. It’s not necessarily a bad thing. My classmate said that drugs and smoking is extremely common here and most people succumb to the temptation eventually and says that he gives me about three months before I get into it as well. I definitely do not believe so. One thing I’m proud of is my willingness to stick with my guts even if that causes me to stand out in a bad way. I refuse to compromise my values and if that makes me a loner, so be it. Now I need to work on my confidence in myself and my choices as well as working on being a more outgoing person. It’s also going to be interesting because I’m pretty much the oldest person in the program. I hope we all get along well! I also hope there will be some nerdy people in my class too 🙂

Today I was not very productive but I made plans with another friend to try a free pilates class next Tuesday! I’ll be meeting with more classmates on Thursday 😀 Also checked out the third supermarket near me. My tummy is a happy tummy!

Leave a Reply

